musical introductions

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard

I took a closer look on the band I have been writing about yesterday “King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard”. It is an australian band founded in 2010. Since 2012 they have released 13 records and the musical range is described as “surf music, garage rock and psychedelic rock including elements of film music, progressive rock, folk, jazz, soul and heavy metal”. So it is not easy to describe what they are doing exactly and the  confusion I felt yesterday is explainable. While watching some videos I was wondering what strange kind of fretboards they use on some guitars. This is when I learned about “microtonal fretboards”. And the guys seem to have a great humor, something I always find very inportant in music. The musicians are:

Stu Mackenzie – vocals, lead guitar, flute, keyboards, synthesizer, mellotron, piano, bass guitar, sitar, zurna, clarinet, saxophone

Ambrose Kenny Smith – harmonica, keyboards, synthesizer, organ, piano, vocals, percussion, guitar

Joey Walker – lead guitar, keyboards, synthesizer, piano, vocals, bass guitar, setar, percussion

Cook Craig – rhythm guitar, synthesizer, vocals, keyboards, bass guitar

Lucas Skinner – bass guitar, vocals, keyboards, piano

Michael Cavanagh – drums, percussion

Eric Moore – drums, percussion, theremin, keyboards, management

I highly recommend to have a closer look, give them a try !!!!! Here’s another link to a video:

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Crumbling Castle (Live on KEXP)

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.